One Day on Weight Watchers Take 2

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-005

My Weight Watchers notepad from DollarTree. I don’t bother with printing the Food Logs anymore instead I write into this handy pad that has enough lines to fit my consume list. I also find the cover ironic! 😉

In my last healthy living post here, I already mentioned that I moved back to my Sister’s for the remainder of the summer. This brought some changes to the way I eat and implement Weight Watchers. When I started this diet I was roped in by one of my Canadian friends I stayed with so we had a lot of snacking (especially in the evening), lighter lunches, big dinners, lots of roast and big salads prepared for sides with at least seven different choises of dressings on the menu. My family is from Hungary, Eastern Europe so our eating habits and meals are kinda differ from the American style: we are not so big on crackers, eat warm, big lunches and light, cold dinners and try to not snack afterwards. We prepare different salads: they are made with distilled vinegar or pickled and truely only a side-dish, cannot be consumed by itself. I do think that I eat more healthily on Hungarian lifestyle and snack less but in the end it’s different for everyone what healthier means and when I will be back in the U.S. and a kitchen of my own I’ll most likely follow a mix of the two.

My Breakfast:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-001

I tend to eat a bigger or more varied breakfast because there are no good, point friendly snacks and crackers in the pantry so I skip morning snack. I eat an assortment of fruits (1-2 cups), cereal (my favorite is Special K from Kellog’s, 3/4 cup for 2 pts) or Weetabix with raisins for flavour. With the Weetabix since it’s only 1 point and require less milk than the cereal I can always fit in some bread or bakery product. I always finish up with some coffee that I flavor with around ¼ cup milk and ½ tablespoon of sugar.

  • Assorted Fruits – 1 pt
  • 1 Weetabix – 1 pt
  • ½ cup 2% milk – 1 pt
  • Raisins + ½ tbsp sugar – 1 pt
  • 1 mini slice homemade bread with seeds – 1 point
  • ½ tbsp Nutella – 1 pt

My Lunch:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-007

Lunch was a chicken stir-fry with leftover roasted chicken, soy sauce, pepper, onions, garlic and polished millet. Not exactly Hungarian, I know. My Sister did adapt some recipes and introduced a few new into their meals so it’s not completely Hungarian cooking anymore, but the principles are still the same as in my Mom’s kitchen. If you’ve never heard of polished millet, it’s very similar to couscous but better in Weight Watchers points, ¼ couscous is 4 points while millet is 4 for ½ cup. It is said to be very healthy. It can be found in specialty and Polish/Eastern European supermarkets.

And some visuals:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-008

In the bag

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-011

Polished millet

Here, I first calculated the points of the whole dish (20 pts) and then divided it down to the amount I served for myself (2 cups ~ 5 pts).

The whole dish:

  • 1 ½ cup millet – 3×4 pts (½ cup uncooked polished millet is 4 pts)
  • 1 ½ chicken breast, about 5 oz ~ 5 pts
  • Soy sauce and oil ~ 3 pts

Snack time:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-016

I eat a bigger snack in the afternoon because we eat dinner kind of late around 8 o’clock, so I need something to tide me over. Can you see an obsession here? Whenever I crave something sweet I grab for Nutella… I LOVE IT! Here I spread it on a ¾ toasted bagel. The good thing… Used sparingly, like ½ tbsp it is only 1 pt on Weight Watchers. With this snack I went a little overboard, but oh well! You cannot be a good girl all the time.

  • ¾ cinnamon raisin bagel – 3 pts
  • 1 tbsp Nutella – 2 pts

My Dinner:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-017

And lastly here’s my light dinner with lots of veggies on the side. I always have a clove of garlic because it is the best to prevent illness (thumbs down for the garlicy breath, but who cares when you’re with family) a small sandwich with some kind of lunch meat and cheese inside and if I have enough points then some cottage cheese on the side.

  • ½ cup Nordica 2% cottage cheese – 2 pts
  • 2 mini slices homemade bread with seeds – 2 pts
  • 1 triangle processed cheese – 1 pt
  • ½ tsp butter – .5 pt (because I cannot go cimpletely without!)
  • 4 thin slices sausage meat – 2 pts

My notepad filled in for the day:

08-14-2014_Weight Watchers-019

So, this is it! All together I spent 23.5 pts and earned 1 activity point during the day. Generally I have more but I hurt my back so I had to put my sport activities on the back burner for a little while… Such a pity! I was doing so good with that but I’ll continue when the backpain is gone.

See you soon!

♥Eszter

Leave a Reply

