The Summer Lip #1 – Pink and Fuchsia

The Summer Lip_Pink and Fuchsia

I’m addicted to lipsticks and especially love the summer season when you can get away with wearing any bold color you like. And I love ‘em! In this series I’ll show my favorite 3-5 lip products in every color family I own. This first post is about pink and fuchsia. I am not a big fan of bold pinks in general. Most of the blue toned pinks clash horrible with my coloring (I’m too yellow toned) but I have three exceptions that I do wear when the mood hits.

07-10-2014_Pink fuchsia lipstick-006

Rimmel Apocalips/Show Off (America) Lip Lacquer in Apocalyptic

It is a really strong fuchsia color. I love this range. It’s a lip lacquer that’s shiny in the beginning and then with time wears off to a stain on the lips. The color is opaque and it is long-lasting though it’s not a YSL Rouge Pur Couture Vernis À Lèvres Glossy Stain that actually sets on the lips. They are from Rimmel, a cheap drugstore brand that can be found everywhere so it is a win-win on every front.

07-10-2014_Pink fuchsia lipstick-010

YSL Rouge Volupté Shine no. 5 – Fuchsia in Excess

YSL always comes out some limited edition Rouge Volupté Shines but this one is part of their permanent line (Thank, God! I had to check up on it…) and it is one of my favorite shiny lipsticks. It has a slight purple tone to it and darker than the other two so a little bit more wearable in my opinion with different make-up looks. It’s not long lasting, 2-3 hours without eating and drinking but it’s very hydrating and luxurious on the lips. The tube is out of this world too. I think it was designed to be reapplied just to show off the royal packaging. And the smell… I think it smalls like some tropical cocktail or fruit (mango!?). Love it!

07-10-2014_Pink fuchsia lipstick-011

NARS Pure Matte Lipstick in Carthage

This is the pinkest lipstick I own. It is opaque and wa-wa-woom. It’s bold and beautiful with black attire. Its lipstick sister, NARS Schiap is unfortunately not wearable for me but this one has just that touch of warmness I need. If I’ve never mentioned before I am a matte lover (lipstick, eye shadow, bronzer…) so this formulation is a dream. Wearing Carthage my lips do not get dry for hours and hours and on a good lip situation day I can wear it without any balm underneath. If you are less lucky in the lip department I’m sure you will need something but it is one of the most hydrating mattes I have ever tried.

07-10-2014_Pink fuchsia lipstick-013

And swatches…

07-10-2014_Pink fuchsia lipstick-004

From left to right: Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer, YSL Rouge Volupté Shine no. 5, NARS Pure Matte Lipstick in Carthage

Unfortunately I do not own any more pinks, but the second installment will be more content heavy with corals.

See you soon!

♥Eszter

3 comments

Leave a Reply

